8.0

pretty bad
Typical Repair Cost:
$139.00
Average Mileage:
82,974 miles
Total Complaints:
39 complaints

Most common solutions:

  1. not sure (24 reports)
  2. replaced blower motor resistor (7 reports)
  3. replaced capacitor and heater module (4 reports)
  4. replaced blower motor (2 reports)
  5. have it fixed at a dealership and then fixed agian for free (1 reports)
  6. stop leaks from warped cowl (1 reports)
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Pontiac Grand Prix:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

This problem may be covered under warranty. Ask your Pontiac dealer.

problem #39

Jan 022013

Grand Prix GT V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 138,646 miles

For some reason my blower on my 2004 Pontiac Grand Prix won't turn off unless i unhook the battery. can anyone tell me how to fix this problem plz thank you

- , Culpeper, VA, USA

problem #38

Jan 152013

Grand Prix ES

  • Automatic transmission
  • 165,000 miles

had a doctors appointment which is quite a distance from our home, got there and heater motor wouldn't shut off as i was by myself i couldn't leave car running whole time so had to run in and cancel ....very annoying since it takes two months to get in... but what else would i do couldn't take chance battery would go dead who knows how long i'd be and couldn't leave running with keys, although at the time i could of cared less if someone stole the piece of crap at that time...but now after going on here i see it's a common problem with these cars, why has there been no recall on them, guess we have to wait till one catches on fire i guess...but now i know to replace the resistor thanks to your forum i'll save a garage bill......

- , Nahma, Mich, USA

problem #37

Oct 192011

Grand Prix GT1 V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 68,000 miles

I love my car don't get me wrong! I hate that I have to pop my hood to remove my fuse to stop my blower from blowing!!!!!!! Whether the heat or ac... what really irritates me is GM won't figure the problem out... I have a right mind to trade it in for something better but that's the only issue with my car and I don't want anymore car payments.... someone please do some research and help us solve this problem.... I'm dying over here.... ARGGHHHHH!!

- , Kansas City, Kansas, USA

problem #36

Mar 032012

Grand Prix 3.8L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 132,000 miles

My girlfriend's blower motor/heater will not turn off at all! Tried turning off car, pulling the hvac fuse. The only way it shuts off is to disconnect the battery. Just got the damn fixed from another problem [ Dex cool eating through one the joints in the intake manifold]. This car is starting to become a pain in the a**. I'm not sure what I need to replace the blower motor or the resister. Someone please help.

- , Greensburg, PA, USA

problem #35

Oct 042011

Grand Prix GT 3.8L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 130,000 miles

This is the third time we have replaced the blower motor resister!

- , Mansfield, Ohio, USA

problem #34

Jul 112011

Grand Prix V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 82,255 miles

I bought my 2004 ponitac grand prix 2 years ago from vission dealer. I noticed a couple of months later that the floor board was wet. So i took it back to the dealer and they told me that it was from a system that my husband had gotten installed in the car. Which was a bunch of bull.. Now today when i got off of work i went to start the car and the blower came on on high. I didn't know what happened but when I went to turn the car off the blower stayed on. What to do? I don't know! Any suggestions> kinder725@yahoo.com

- , Rocherster, NY, USA

problem #33

Jan 312011

Grand Prix GT1 3.8L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 69,900 miles

I see this is a common problem and I'm pissed since i just bought the car used 4 days ago..started w a bunch of blinking of the panels when i shut off the car..for the first 3 days i noticed my battery was acting up and almost couldn't start the car a few times cause i have a older battery and knew i had to replace that. but today i went to gas station shut off car and the blower kept running nothing worked to shut it. I then could not start the car the battery was drained..took to a friend he thinks its the relay switch..so he said take to the place i bought it and see if they will make things rite..I'm hoping the warranty i got for 1 yr will cover it..its a cars protection plus warranty. if anyone can give me sum thought on how to handle this w the same dealer i bought it from please give me a response..I'm a female ontop of it!

- , Allen Park, MI, USA

problem #32

Aug 172010

Grand Prix GTP

  • Automatic transmission
  • 170,000 miles

Ok so a/c heater would not blow air unless I was driving. I replaced the resister, that wasn't it. It still wouldn't turn on. Then I replaced the blower motor and now it wont turn off even when the car is turned off and it still is not fixed. Any suggestions on how to fix it?

- , Sandusky, Ohio, USA

problem #31

Jan 132010

Grand Prix 3.8L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 150,000 miles

The blower will not turn off no matter if i turn the car off or take keys out i have to manual detach the cords. Its really complicated. I also see my passenger side floor soaking wet. and my antifreeze seems like it has a leak because i have to refill it almost every two weeks. Help

- , Columbus, OH, USA

problem #30

Jul 142009

Grand Prix GTP 3.8L V6

  • CVT transmission
  • 80,000 miles

Since I'm not the only one with this tale, I shall share mine. Back in `09, after hitting roughly 80k in miles, I had my car's fluids flushed and filters checked. And this is where I think the problem originated. After the "technician" checked the air cabin filter, I started to notice after it rained that a puddle was forming inside the cabin of my car. For the longest time, a month or so, I couldn't figure out why. Then I did a routine oil change and noticed that the cowl and the 2 ft. rubber seal that goes under it weren't properly placed. After fixing what I could of it, the water stopped but not long after the blower motor wouldn't shut off. I took it to the dealership I bought it from and they replaced the motor, for a fee. All was well, until winter hit and then the motor gave out again. Does anyone know how much of a pain in the neck it is to remove a battery cable in the middle of a Michigan winter? Probably so. Instead of taking it back to the dealership, as I was unsatisfied with their work, I went to my local auto parts store and asked them. They told me the resistor was likely bad. I got one of them, and as I was changing it out, I noticed that the old resistor had corrosion from all the water that leaked into my car. Thoroughly pissed off, I changed it out and life went back to normal. Fast forward to 2 weeks ago. Shortly after our first good snow storm, what should happen? The SAME DAMN THING! YOU WOULD THINK AFTER 6 YEARS OF COMPLAINTS, GM WOULD GET OFF THEIR BUREAUCRATIC DUFFS AND DO SOMETHING ABOUT THIS!!!!! But no, instead of posting a recall on it and admitting they f*&%ed up, they just closed down Pontiac's line of cars and took vacations. Then they have the nerve to go to Congress and ask for taxpayer money to save their business? I don't F*&%ing think so!

So now, as a temporary solution, I simply unplug the blower motor each time I get out of it. Yeah it's an inconvenience, but at this point, it beats throwing money away. Maybe in the summer I will see about taking some silicone adhesive to the warped cowl and the rubber seal, to permanently keep it in place. And what really gets me, is that my wife owns the 05 Grand Prix, hasn't had a single problem with it. Ain't that a b@*&#?

- , Fort Gratiot, MI, USA

problem #29

Sep 292010

Grand Prix GT V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 140,000 miles

I have a 2004 Pontiac Grand Prix The control knob can be turned off completely and it still runs oh high. It will run even if the car is off and the keys removed. If the fuse isn't removed,the fan will run all the time causing the battery to die.

- , Loveland, OH, USA

problem #28

Nov 152009

Grand Prix GTP 3.2L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 79,000 miles

I have a 2004 Pontiac Grand Prix GTP. The AC/Heat will only work if the fuse put in (under the hood), then it runs only on HIGH. The control knob can be turned off completely and it still runs oh high. It will run even if the car is off and the keys removed. If the fuse isn't removed,the fan will run all the time causing the battery to die. I'm at my wits end and can't afford a diagnostics estimate, let alone some sort of huge expensive replacement. Also when it rains, there a puddle of water on the passenger side floor that looks like it's coming from underneath the dash!! We ought to have a CLASS ACTION LAWSUIT! This can cause black mold, which can be DEATHLY!!

- , Belpre, Ohio, USA

problem #27

Feb 172010

Grand Prix V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 100,000 miles

I had bought the car for my wife used.one day after i bought it the blower motor would not shut off when i had the car turnede off so i called the dealer and told him and he said i bought it "as is" no warranty. i had to get it fixed so i took it to a mechanic and he said he would put a new resister in and a control module for 625 dollars so i bought the control module from a salvage for 40 dollars it did not fix the problem. then i bouhgt a blower motor resiter for 75 bucks brand new from napa i put it in myself promblem solved!

the resistor is under your glove box take the panel off there is two wiring harness under there the big one is pluged in to ur resistor closest to the fire wall. unplug it pull out the two rivets holding it in buy you a new one. plug it in screw it down smile and relax. promblem solved if u have any questions email me. my name is daniel

- , Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

problem #26

Sep 172009

Grand Prix 3.8L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 85,175 miles

As you can imagine, I'm very upset that this problem keeps happening. I don't know if it's something else that causes these resistors to continue to mess up or it's the store I got them at (Advance Auto). PLEASE HELP!!! This is getting very expensive. Who wants to have to unhook the battery cable every time they need to run somewhere!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Update from Sep 22, 2009: On September 18th, I went to a GM Dealership and bought a new heater motor for ($120.69) and a heater module for ($63.34). I got a local mechanic to install both of these in my car (it took about 25 minutes) and he only charged me ($20.00). Right away, I noticed that the noises that had been continuing when I only put in the module were gone. I don't know if it was the heater motor or the module I had been getting from Advance Auto. I think it was probably the heater motor. I'm hoping this fixed the problem, so I also hope you don't hear from me again.

- , Manchester, KY, USA

problem #25

Aug 282009

Grand Prix 3.8L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 85,150 miles

This time, I took the part back to advance for a replacement. After receiving the part, I had it replaced on 09/11/09. The serviceman who had been unhooking it, so it wouldn't run my battery down must have felt sorry for me. He unhooked the old one and put the replacement one in free. STILL MORE TO COME!

- , Manchester, KY, USA

problem #24

Aug 222009

Grand Prix 3.8L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 85,100 miles

I fixed the problem with the water coming in under the dashboard. I bought a new heater motor resistor on 08/22/09 and had it installed the same day. It lasted until 08/28/09 and quit again on my way to work. MORE TO FOLLOW!!!

- , Manchester, KY, USA

problem #23

Jul 052009

Grand Prix 3.8L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 85,000 miles

I had water coming under the windshield into the ac unit under the hood, so I figured that was the problem. MORE TO COME!

- , Manchester, KY, USA

problem #22

Jul 202009

Grand Prix GTP SC 3.7L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 70,000 miles

I am so pissed off I always wanted a grand prix finally got one. I left work today and realized my fan was blowing at top speed when I turned it off I realized it wasn't on. I got home at 11pm and in my garage started pulling fuses until I got it one that turned it off. WTF how much is this B/S going to cost to fix !!!!! With the car completely off fuse out I put the fuse back in and the fan started right back up. They just don't make cars the way they used to. Is this the relay stuck does anyone know tell me so I can fix it my damn self. !!!!!

- , Youngstown, Ohio, USA

problem #21

Jul 042009

Grand Prix GT1 3.8L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 102,000 miles

I come home after working a long week at Fort Dix and I had to return the rental car back to BWI when I hop in my car to run my coworker to the airport i turned on my A/C and begin driving not thinking about anything until i was going down I95 and realize that my blower was blowing at full blast and i had it turned up two notches and I was like ok and then I turned it off and it was still blowing! So now im pissed!!! So I had thought that maybe i could remove a fuse to keep it from running down my battery and that didn't work either so at that point i removed the negative terminal and shut it off and then out of curiosity i connected it again and it begin blowing! SO NOW im really mad because it now said theft system disabled my starting of my vehicle! SO NOW I CAN"T START MY CAR....ughhhhhh!!! WTF NOW!!!! So i tried to see if I was able to get into my DIC but no luck and the damn manual didn't help a damn bit so now that damn factory theft system disabled my car and i also noticed that it was spitting out SERVICE ABS, SERVICE THEFT SYSTEM, SERVICE BRAKE SYSTEM, CHARGING SYSTEM FAILURE, and so forth and those have never come up before! I serviced my brake 4 months ago so now im like HOT under the collar because this is total bulls**t!!! Now I come to this site and read this and it totally made me even madder that this could have been a recall and taken care of by GM but now I see why they are bankrupt and in trouble with the consumer! That makes me positive that I won't EVER buy another GM vehicle in my life again! Consumers are usually right and if you don't cater to us then risk going out of business!

- , Baltimore, Maryland, USA

problem #20

Mar 202009

Grand Prix 3.8L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 96,313 miles

I too have the same problem with the blower not shutting off. I did attend a GM Dealership today and shared some of the complaints I had printed off this site with the Parts & Service Employees. Unfortunately for me I was advised the same as all of you that this was not a recall. Being the positive person that I am I ended up purchasing a control module for $96.52 CDN and took it home to install it myself (no need to pay someone $85 an hour). I was advised it should only take two beers to finish it by the service guy.

This module is still not installed as of yet. It would appear as the person who designed the location of the module must have been drinking too. It is wedged tight up against the firewall and for some reason GM decided to cheap out and put some kinda bull sh*t plastic rivet to secure the factory module.

I am frustrated and my back is sore. If anyone out there knows hows these stupid rivets come off please let me know it would be appreciated. I don't figure I will get a response from a GM worker ....there probably drinking.

- , Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Read the next 19 complaints »