7.6

pretty bad
Typical Repair Cost:
No data
Average Mileage:
37,161 miles
Total Complaints:
15 complaints

Most common solutions:

  1. not sure (12 reports)
  2. tsb #14-001-011, vehicles built 3/1/07 & 3/31/2008 only (2 reports)
  3. new gas tank (1 reports)
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Jeep Wrangler:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

Get free help with your lemon!
close ad
problem #15

Jul 012011

Wrangler X 3.8L V6

  • Manual transmission
  • 30,000 miles

Jeep needs to fix this problem under a recall. Waste of gas, dangerous, gas all over the Jeep and me, wife won't put gas in at all.

- , Champaign, IL, USA

problem #14

Aug 102013

Wrangler X

  • Automatic transmission
  • 38,000 miles

The gas spillage is terrible, it's sprays everywhere and is damaging the finish and bumpers

- , Wailuku, HI, USA

problem #13

Mar 282011

Wrangler Unlimited Rubicon 3.8L

  • Manual transmission
  • 29,033 miles

Auto pump shutoff does not work with this gas tank filler, fuel sprays out of fill up. Only time fuel does not spill out if you very slowly add fuel until it the pump cuts off.

- , Frederica, DE, USA

problem #12

Apr 032013

Wrangler Unlimited V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 86,000 miles

This problem has gone on ever since we purchased the car. This is deffinitly something that could very well cause someone to get hurt or dead. I understand the NHTS has "Reviewed" the Complaint and determined that there is not a problem. Please let them come with me the next time I fill up so I can determine that it's all a figment of my Imagination. I just wonder how many people that put Gas into these things that never have enough money to fill the Damn thing up. I bet they dont ever have that problem...

- , Troup, TX, USA

problem #11

Oct 102012

Wrangler Sahara 3.8L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 73,820 miles

I HAVE OWNED THIS VEHICLE FOR 5 WEEKS AND FILLED IT 6 TIMES, EACH TIME THE FUEL HAS FLOWED BACK OUT OF THE FILLER NECK, DOWN THE BODY AND BUMPER, AND ONTO THE GROUND. I'VE TRIED REGULATING THE FLOW, SLOWING AS MUCH AS POSSIBLE AT THE TOP OF THE TANK, HOLDING THE PUMP NOZZLE TIGHT AGAINST THE FILLER NECK, AND TRYING TO STOP SHORT OF THE TOP OF THE TANK. DESPITE EFFORTS, I WAIT 2 SECONDS AND OUT FUEL COMES. THE LAST 2 FILL-UPS, THE FUEL PUDDLE CREATED IS 18-24" IN DIAMETER ON THE GROUND.

I UNDERSTAND CHRYSLER IS DENYING A DESIGN FLAW, BUT I'VE READ THAT INDEPENDENT LAB TESTING SHOWS THE MATERIALS USED IN CONSTRUCTING THE ANTI-FLOWBACK MECHANISMS ARE NOT ETHANOL RESISTANT. SO CHRYSLER BOUGHT THE NHTSB OFF AND THE INVESTIGATION INTO A RECALL IS CLOSED? SEEMS PREMATURE, CONSIDERING IT IS STILL HAPPENING ALL OVER THE COUNTRY. WHAT WILL IT TAKE, A REFUELING FIRE WHERE A CHILD IN A CAR SEAT BURNS TO DEATH? THIS IS NOT A USER ERROR, IT IS A DESIGN FLAW.

I GUESS WHEN THE GOVERNMENT GIVES YOU TONS OF CASH TO BAIL YOU OUT, THEY BECOME YOUR DEFAULT PARTNER IN CRIME.

- , Ware, MA, USA

problem #10

Mar 032012

Wrangler Sahara 3.6L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 45,000 miles

Gas spills over when fueling if you leave the handle in the fixed position.

- , Davie, FL, USA

problem #9

May 312012

Wrangler

  • Manual transmission
  • 58,500 miles

I just bought this Jeep and after filling the tank about 4 times, I've noticed that it spills over every time before the automatic shut off. Lousy.

- , Annapolis, MD, USA

problem #8

Jan 202012

Wrangler X

  • Automatic transmission
  • 25,000 miles

This should not be happening on a new vehicle. Gives the vehicle a bad name and would love to trade it off........... very disappointing

- , Louisiana, MO, USA

problem #7

Dec 152011

Wrangler 3.8L

  • Manual transmission
  • 18,500 miles

On September 10, 2008 I purchased a new 2008 Jeep Wrangler from my local dealer. It has had modest use under normal driving conditions and has been properly maintained. It has approximately 18,500 miles on it. I have had no problems with the vehicle, except a month ago I started experiencing problems with the gas shooting out of the tank near the end of filling up. I thought this was a problem with the nozzle not having the proper shut off mechanism. However the attendant said no other cars had that problem at this particular pump. I subsequently experienced the problem again at another pump.

I could avoid the problem only if I shut off the gas as it neared the top (before the point when it is shut off by the nozzle’s own mechanism). However if I filled the tank on the Jeep as I do on our other car (and as I did on the Jeep prior to last month), the gas would shoot out of the tank, spilling on the side and on my fingers, and on one occasion, on my pant leg. I consider this problem of gas spilling outside the car a very dangerous condition which needs to be remedied.

I had not received any recall or service action notices from the manufacturer about this problem. So I did an internet search and discovered that there had been a number of other people experiencing the same problem and that the manufacturer had issued a recall for 2007 and 2008 Wranglers manufactured between March 2007-March 2008. I checked my vehicle and determined it was manufactured in May 2008. However the problem was the identical problem complained about and which was the subject of the recall.

I therefore contacted my dealer and was eventually advised that they would replace the fuel tank as an emission problem covered by a lifetime warranty. While I certainly appreciate the coverage, I think it is not an acceptable practice to not at least notify owners of the problems, if not issuing an actual recall itself. Not all consumers can be expected to determine the source of the problem on their own. Please note my mechanic had not heard of it and more importantly, the Jeep dealer did not at first recognize/acknowledge the problem until I directed them to the information I had found through an internet search.

I would certainly think it advisable for the manufacturer be required to notify its owners of this problem and/or issue a recall of the affected vehicles.

- , Newton, MA, USA

problem #6

May 032011

Wrangler X 3.8L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 23,500 miles

Chrysler/Jeep knows of the "Fuel Spill Back During Refueling" DANGER. Gas splashes out of tank during refueling (apparent check valve manufacturer defect). Also, possible gas spill during Roll Over. Chrysler issued Traffic Safety Bulletin, dated February 11, 2011, (TSB) # 14-001-011 for Extended Warranty (Lifetime) for Jeep Wranglers with 3.8L engine built between March 1, 2007 & March 31, 2008. Gas Tanks being replaced.

My 2008 Jeep Wrangler (same engine, EXACT SAME DEFECTIVE CHECK VALVE) also, splashes gas back at you during refueling (not just drops of gas but like a cup of gas shoots out) but is not included in Bulletin, due to my vehicle 'Built On' date being April 2008. As per Dealer "you missed it by one day". Neither Gas Tank nor Check Valve had been redesigned to make safe, as of the cut off date in bulletin.

Dealer Service Department states that they see this problem all the time (they call it 'Burping') and don't know why my vehicle was not included (they had a Jeep up on the lift as we spoke, replacing the tank for this problem). Dealer offered a "Goodwill Consideration" of doing the necessary repair with a deductible of $100.00. Contacted Chrysler Customer Service Representative, then Case Team Management Supervisor who stated, unknown why your vehicle was not included, but the Dealer's offer is the only consideration that would be given. Also, that there was NO ONE ABOVE HER CAPACITY, TO ESCALATE THE REPORTING OF THIS DANGEROUS DEFECT TO.

Complaint was filed with the NHTSA (ODI # 10399760)

- , Aiken, SC, USA

problem #5

Oct 302011

Wrangler Unlimited 3.8L

  • Manual transmission
  • 46,440 miles

During refueling, fuel spews out of the tank before the pump is shuts off. I just purchased this car and took it to a gas station that I've used for several years and on two (2) occasions, the fuel spewed out of the tank before the pump shut off. The splash hit by cloths and shoes. This is a extremely dangerous situation that under the right circumstances could ignite a person(s) or the fuel pump area.

I've read the previous notices regarding the fuel spill and note that the Ethanol level is 10% on the pumps I used.

- , Kill Devil Hills, NC, USA

problem #4

Mar 102011

Wrangler 3.8L V6

  • Manual transmission
  • 24,000 miles

love my jeep, but am very disappointed with this models defect not being taken seriously and corrected

- , San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #3

Nov 012010

Wrangler Sahara 4 Door 3.8L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 35,000 miles

2008 Jeep Wrangler Sahara 4 Door. When filling the gas tank,and all of a sudden I have gas pouring out of the filler.

This is very dangerous and at today's prices, expensive!

- , Wake Forest, NC, USA

problem #2

Jun 252010

Wrangler V6

  • Manual transmission
  • 24,600 miles

Since April of last year til current April of 2011 i have had to watch filling this jeep. Watch it because if you dont you and your jeep will take a gasoline bath not a little but a HUGE puddle of gas comes bursting out at you so when you get to 10-11 gallons let it sit for a minute then you have to watch gas gauge and becareful. What a joke im glad i bought a brand new jeep Chrysler sure didnt get it right with these new bigger better jeeps they got it all wrong wrong wrong. Stick to what you know!!!!!!!!!

- , Jackson, MI, USA

problem #1

Jul 182008

Wrangler X 3.8L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 20 miles

2008 jeep wrangler. I go to fuel it up and all of a sudden I have gas spewing out on me and my new vehicle and the ground at4.00 a gl at that time!!!What is the deal . my coworker has the same problem. We have to put our ear close to know how much can go in to fill up without it spewing out. This is dangerous..

- , Erin, TN, USA