8.0

pretty bad

Typical Repair Cost:

$2,171.00

Average Mileage:

96,310 miles

Total Complaints:

144 complaints

Most common solutions:

  1. honda should recall 2002 accords to replace defective tranny (64 reports)
  2. honda should replace transmission at no charge (39 reports)
  3. not sure (20 reports)
  4. Honda replaced the transmission at no cost (7 reports)
  5. Honda should replace the transmission (7 reports)
  6. rebuild transmission (4 reports)
Be notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Honda Accord:

We never share your personal information with other companies, & there is an unsubscribe link in every alert we send you!

This problem may be covered under warranty. Ask your Honda dealer.

problem #144

2011Oct 22

Accord LX 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 138,000 miles

My husband has had a dynasty of Hondas, and they were always reliable. The difference- his were manual trans. My son got this 02 Accord as his first car from Harry Klause Motors, OC, NJ. October 2007. It was 1 owner, 80+Kmiles. We paid 8K for it. Within a few months, it was slipping, engine light on. We took it to Rossi Honda, on Harry's orders. They refused to fix it on recall, saying we would have to pay 3K. I drove it to Ocean City, Harry gave me a loaner, fixed problem no charge. FROM THAT POINT, THE CAR WAS ALWAYS RELIABLE, until 10/22.

My son was driving home, the car stalled. Engine light came on, D4 flashing. He started the car, it stuttered and went very slow (20 mph) with the gas pedal floored. He pulled over. Called home, took 2 hrs for AAA to get it towed to our local garage (30 min ride). Local guy is former car dealership repair manager, knows his stuff and is HONEST. (James at Monro Muffler/Brakes, Vineland, NJ). He called me and told me that it was likely the transmission, he couldn't fix it, and it would not be worth it to sink that kind of money into the car. Sadly, the car has good tires, all new belts and hoses, semi-synthetic oil changes...another issue: the body is a mess. The hood paint is "webbed", the latch does not work right. The front bumper cracked when we were shoveling snow from around it last year.

So, what did I do? I went to RK Chevrolet's Certified Pre-owned Sale, bought a 09 HHR for 13K. The Honda is in my driveway. I have offered it to two teenagers I am close to, as is, for their Daddies to fix up for them. First towtruck here gets it. Will I ever buy another Honda??? No, thanks. I like my Nissans; and after driving my first Chevy ever (the HHR) I could grow to like these cars too...LOVE that new Camaro!! :)

trishthegeek

Vineland, NJ, USA

SEND A COMMENT »
Add A Complaint
problem #143

2011Oct 10

Accord SE 2.3L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 85,950 miles

2002 honda accord se, bought brand new from local dealer, trans went out on a out of town trip at 50k miles, hauled back, complained, had it replaced with an old used trans, at 85960 miles,, went out again, dealer want over 5k to fix, called american honda co., they refused to do anything, told them what about the reputation of honda accord they been singing all these years as the most reliable car in its class for 10 plus year??? it didn't budge them, i am not putting up that kind of money to fix it,,even ask them if you guys not fixing it, then at least buy this piece of sh_t back off my hand, they said they couldn't do that either, i am either going toyota camry or ford fusion after this.

Thang N.

Houma, LA, USA

SEND A COMMENT »
Add A Complaint
problem #142

2011Sep 01

Accord EX 4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 75,000 miles

I have received 2 independent repair estimates. One was 2500 and the other was 2000. From what I have read online these repair costs have to be for rebuilt transmissions and not new ones. I am told that this car is worth putting the money into but if there are issues with these transmissions, who is to say that it won't happen again with a re-built one? I am stuck between a rock and a hard place because I really cannot afford this kind of repair if it it won't guarantee that the problem will be fixed.

This is my second Honda. The first Honda i owned was a 1996 Civic which is still on the road and never had a transmission issue. I upgraded to the Accord when I was in the market for a new car because I trusted the Honda name. However, this transmission failed at 75,000 miles!! I cannot seem to get any kind of satisfaction!

BarbaraMA

barbarama

Newton, MA, USA

SEND A COMMENT »
Add A Complaint
problem #141

2009Jun 01

Accord EX

  • Automatic transmission
  • 98,000 miles

Honda gets a lot of credit for making reliable cars...

I'll never buy one again, b/c my transmission started showing problems at 98K, something that should not happen for a supposedly reliable car. And based on what I've read my "transmission issue" didn't meet the qualifications for the recall?

Another lost customer for Honda.

dblaso02

Louisville, KY, USA

SEND A COMMENT »
Add A Complaint
problem #140

2009Feb 01

Accord LX 4

  • Automatic transmission
  • 108,000 miles

I was told 2 years ago by a Honda dealership that a solenoid was defective in the transmission. Solenoid was replaced but problems did not go away completely. Transmission would shift, but hard and with great delay in 1st gear. I returned to 2 other dealerships but was told that the car did not have an issue. I will not travel with the car as I am afraid the transmission will fail when it gets hot as it did the 1st time when I was 300 miles from home. I recently took the car to a local transmission shop whom I trust and was told this is a common occurrence with this make and model. I was also told that a recall was issued but I never was notified by mail or phone even though this is a 1 owner car.

Nancy W.

Kannapolis, NC, USA

SEND A COMMENT »
Add A Complaint
problem #139

2011Oct 31

Accord SE 2.3L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 107,000 miles

Last year car had difficulty shifting but recently it's gotten much worse, transmission slips , jerks and doesn't want to change gears. Really uncomfortable, definitely very close to failing. I think that Honda needs to at least subsidize fixing this issue. I am almost considering to purchase Camry as my next car although had several Hondas in my life as well as current Odyssey that we use as a family hauler.

alexnwa

Marysville, WA, USA

SEND A COMMENT »
Add A Complaint
problem #138

2011Jul 20

Accord SE 2.3L V4

  • Automatic transmission
  • 198,000 miles

Transmission sometimes takes a while to engage in first or second gear. It doesn't happen all the time, but when it does, I sometimes hold up traffic while it takes its time figuring when to engage. When I changed the transmission fluid, I found metal shavings in the fluid. I changed 3 times within a couple of weeks, and it did seem to give it new life. But the symptoms keep coming back. It seems to me that the metal shavings are probably causing the clutch to slip. Planning to overhaul transmission soon to see if I can get past this issue. Car has 200,000 miles on it, and except for the transmission slipping problem, runs fine.

Robert S.

Marietta, GA, USA

SEND A COMMENT »
Add A Complaint
problem #137

2009Oct 01

Accord EX 2.3L L4 Sohc 16v

  • Automatic transmission
  • 130,000 miles

I have only been driving Honda Accords. First was 92, now it's 02.

Last 2 year I've noticed significant transmission slippage in my 02 accord. From 1st to 2nd gear it'll hesitate then shift real hard(almost to the point of whiplash), 2nd to 3rd gear has same problem but not as severe. 3rd to 4th has it too but almost unnoticeable.

Problem is seen most often when accelerating at a decent rate.

I've changed my transmission fluid every 3 years or so with ATF-Z1 fluid. Tried Lucas transmission fix. No difference. About to try Rislone.

I hope to drive it to 200k but not sure if I'll make it. I'm hoping to NOT have to pay $2500 to get it rebuilt and just deal with it if/when it breaks down completely.

With this problem the driving will be unpredictable and dangerous; a major safety issue.

-JY

John Y.

Durham, NC, USA

SEND A COMMENT »
Add A Complaint
problem #136

2011Aug 15

Accord LX 2.3L 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 62,000 miles

I BOUGHT THIS CAR USED WITH 53k MILES, ONE OWNER THINKING I'D HAVE A RELIABLE CAR FOR MY WIFE. FIRST I FOUND OUT THAT IT'S BURNING A QUART OF OIL EVERY 1K MILES WHICH IS ACCEPTABLE TO HONDA THEN I HAD TO SPEND $600 FOR A TIMING BELT SERVICE AND NOW THE TRANSMISSION DELAYS SHIFTING INTO 2ND GEAR THEN SHIFTS HARD, ENGINE LIGHT COMES ON AND THE GEAR INDICATOR FLASHES AND THE CAR WON'T MOVE! I HAVE TO SHUT THE CAR OFF AND RESTART IT TO BE ABLE TO MOVE. SOUNDS LIKE A REAL HAZARD TO ME! IT DOES DRIVE BETTER AFTER WARMING UP. NOT SO SURE I'D BUY ANOTHER HONDA AFTER THIS EXPERIENCE.

daviddnew jersey

WEST MILFORD, New Jersey, USA

SEND A COMMENT »
Add A Complaint
problem #135

2010Jun 01

Accord EX V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 150,000 miles

My husband's Accord i sso horrible. I hate riding in it or driving it. Sometimes it has good days. Those days are becoming few and very far between. The transmission is still shifting but, it jerks badly. Mostly between 1st thru 3rd gear. Seems to jerk hardest from 2nd to 3rd. Someone mentioned solenoids possibly being the problem. We are thinking about looking into this. At this point we are just waiting for it to completely lay down on us. We have been faithful to the Honda and Acura car companies. He has owned 5 Hondas (2 were destroyed in wrecks) and I have owned 3 Hondas and 2 Acuras. We love them so much but this problem is very frustrating and disappointing.

gsrgurl

Richmond, KY, USA

SEND A COMMENT »
Add A Complaint
problem #134

2006Nov 02

Accord 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 67,000 miles

in 2006 took the Honda back to the dealer-this time they found that the transmission was horrible-not good. they replaced it for nothing-however in one month I had to take the car back becasue same problem occured. They said the first re-built transmission they put in the car in Nov 2006 was no good so they put a different one in the car. Within a week the car was having sever problems again-had to take it back to the shop. When the transmissiong was changed they broke the plate in back of the transmission. They blamed me and said i had to have been in an accident for that plate to get broke. I explained it wasn't possible for me to get into an accident and have it fixed in a week and that they could check any system they wanted because I had never had an accident; They again had to fix it. So another week without my car.

Karen M.

Kenosha, WI, USA

SEND A COMMENT »
Add A Complaint
problem #133

2011Mar 25

Accord 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 137,000 miles

took my car back-although the car has 137,000 miles on it the transmission was replaced 4 years ago by Honda four years ago so there is only 60,000 miles ont his transmission. I was assured by the Honda service that this transmission would last 200,000 miles no problem and after having my transmission replaced twice already i never imagined this would happen again. Today I took car to the dealer and they can't do anything. The mechanic was very kind and explain that due to the age of the car they couldn't do anything. He did however say that my car was in excellent shape-nothing else was a problem. Of course when the transmission is out what good is the rest of the car.

I called Honda Customer Care Center-nice CSR person I spoke with but she put me on hold to check my issue. She came back and said she couldn't do anything. She knew I was very upset becaseu I was crying. I am beyond destraught over this so she said she would send it on to the case manager. She said they could not guarantee any resolution and because of the age of the car and the mileage on the car she didn't think anythikng would be done. I asked what is the cutoff mileage and age- this is where it threw me-she said it is a case by case basis. Ok who decides which case gets fixed? How can you do case by case. I have not had a single transmission that has last for 70,000 miles-and I have had three.

Honda had a loyal family that bought Hondas for 25 years but no more. My loyalty has gotten me no where. I have been Honda's greatest cheerleader but I will no longer do that. As much as I can I will warn all not to buy Honda.

Karen M.

Kenosha, WI, USA

SEND A COMMENT »
Add A Complaint
problem #132

2005Nov 01

Accord 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 60,000 miles

IN 2005 my Honda 202 Accord began to slip -took to the shop and they said nothing was wrong with it. Dealer said no problem.

Karen M.

Kenosha, WI, USA

SEND A COMMENT »
Add A Complaint
problem #131

2010Oct 12

Accord

  • Automatic transmission
  • 100,000 miles

I have taken my accord to the dealer 3 times and have yet to get the problem repaired. The transmission leaks, the gears jerk and I feel like I'm getting the run around until my car breaks down completely and they can charge me an arm and a leg to fix the entire thing.

Patti T.

Redondo Beach, CA, USA

SEND A COMMENT »
Add A Complaint
problem #130

2011Jan 04

Accord EX V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 192,000 miles

I know my car has a lot of miles. But, that's beside the point. The point is there's 1,000"s of people with a 2000-2004 V6 auto with this same problem. If that's not a recall Mr.Honda you tell me. Sobody, will pay if my family get hurt if this trans go out in traffic.
People we need to present a class action Law Suit to Honda,

Ryan G.

Birmingham, AL, USA

SEND A COMMENT »
Add A Complaint
problem #129

2010Jun 28

Accord EX 3.0L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 110,000 miles

June 2010 I took my car to the mechanic to have my transmission rebuilt. I picked it up a week later and it ran O.K for a week. At that point it started to slip and jerk again. I took it back to the same mechanic who guaranteed the job he had done for 1 yr. However,upon him diagnosing this issue he claimed it did not fall under the warranty of the transmission that it needed 2 coils replaced along with the ground wire repaired. He quoted the work at $500.00. I immediately took my car elsewhere and had it done for $40.00 (the cost of 2 coils). Another week later the slipping and jerking AGAIN. Was told it was another coil. After another week AGAIN, This time they claimed it was the brain. I was so fed up and felt like I was getting the run around. So I researched these cars and found the shift position solenoid is known to go bad so I purchased 1 and had it replaced. The car ran fine for about a month than again it started acting up. After driving at high speed on the expressway I proceeded to get off my exit and upon passing the toll could not move. My car would not go into any gear except reverse. I had to drive home from the xpressway in reverse with my 11 MONTH OLD SON! Do u know how much I could have gotten in trouble by law enforcement for this? Not to mention how extremely dangerous. Would honda have payed my traffic tix or my hospital bills if something had gone wrong? Anyway I took my car back to the mechanic who did the trans rebuild after having my car for 2weeks I picked my car up and he claimed the converter was bad (BULLSHIT). Sorry for the profanity but by this time I'm done w/mechanics. After getting my car would u believe me if I said it was STILL SLIPPING AND JERKING? Not as bad but it was. So I took it somewhere else I had never been and didn't mention the previous work done to the vehicle. Just said it was slipping and I needed it checked. He called me 2hrs later to come up and look at what he had found which was a leak through the left front axle seal,transmission fluid sprayed all under my undercarriage and after re-filling it,it will just spray out again. Supposedly this is all due to the differentials. I was quoted for this job at $3,899.00. Was told Honda is very aware of this defect. So much that they take the transmission u send in and repair it right awaynso when another defected one is sent they can send ur repaired one out as a replacement. Honda has really let me down.

notoriousnelly

Sicklerville, NJ, USA

SEND A COMMENT »
Add A Complaint
problem #128

2011Apr 01

Accord LX 2.3L 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 101,050 miles

Despite my reservations my dealer insisted that I service the 2002 Accord transmission every 15,000 after 35,000 which seemed ridiculous and costly but I went along with. Basically they charged me a bunch of money to keep my transmission from going out during warranty. My car apparently has an odometer discrepancy so it has closer to 98K than 101K. I had complained how the car shift and jumps when braking when cold while the car was in warranty (around 75K) but was told by my dealer that was normal. Unfortunately they did not record that on a service slip so it's my word against theirs. Now the transmission stalls in the middle of intersections, and you have to hold the brake down hard at stops to keep it from jumping into the car ahead of you when cold. The dealer wants $4300 to replace the transmission and after complaining to Honda they offered to cover part of it and get it down to $2800. All of this is bogus pricing of course because I can have a local garage that specialized in Honda's do it for around the same price and they offer the same or better warranty. When I purchased the car the salesman told me that the powertrain would last 300K with no problems as long as kept up with maintenance...... hardly. The regular maintenance on this car has been the most expensive on any that I have ever owned, with that amount of regular service this car should have lasted me to 200K with ease. I will not buy a Honda product again, their quality and reputation are a mirage and their dealers are not interested in protecting or standing up for the consumer.

rmars

Bettendorf, IA, USA

SEND A COMMENT »
Add A Complaint
problem #127

2010Feb 04

Accord V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 100,500 miles

I am disappointed in Honda. Not sure if I would purchase another vehicle from them. They just blow off their customers and will not address this issue at least for this year of vehicle.

aquan

Phoenix, AZ, USA

SEND A COMMENT »
Add A Complaint
problem #126

2010Jun 03

Accord LX V4

  • Automatic transmission
  • 80,978 miles

The transmission on our 2001 Honda Accord was replaced without cost after many visits to the service facility (Honda City Levittown, NY) during which the technicians said there was nothing wrong with the transmission (approx. 80,000 miles on the car). Our 2002 Honda Accord began slipping and bucking so badly in June 2010 after a trip from OH to NY that it almost put us through the windshield. Brought it into the same service facility where they said the transmission was fine and replaced the fluid. They told us that if the transmission was bad that the engine light would go on. The car ran a little better for a while. Now it slips all the time. We took it back today (Feb. 2011) and now they say "Yes the transmission is slipping and is really shot between 2nd and 3rd." Cost for a rebuilt Honda transmission is $3100 and they will graciously take 10% off the price.
I complained to the dealer who told me I should contact Honda directly to see what they will do for me. He offered me a 2011 Accord for a good price but told me that I would be foolish not to purchase an extended warranty for $1,395. He even likened it to purchasing medical insurance. Why should I have to purchase an extended warranty to cover the cost of a know defect? We had 1992, 2001, and 2002 Honda Accords. We just purchased a 2010 Accord this past August because we read that the transmission problems had been solved. Our son is going through the same stalling tactics with his 2002 Accord transmission problems with the same dealership. All of our children have purchased Hondas? What can I do about the transmission cost? How can Honda treat loyal customers this way? Honda's response will determine what brand our next car will be.

Update from Feb 16, 2011: After contacting corporate Honda, I was assigned a case number and a rep contacted me within 24 hours. I explained the problem with the car and our history with Honda. The rep contacted our service manager and then called me back within two more days. The offer was a 50:50 split of the cost fort a rebuilt transmission. This seemed reasonable due to the 80k + miles on the car. The transmission comes with a three year warranty. I was told that we were given the offer because we were loyal Honda customers. When we made an appointment to bring the car in, one of the technicians said that no one pays full price for a new transmission. The technician at Honda City, John, who was in charge of our car during its stay went out of his way to make an additional repair to the battery cables and tray while the car was there - no charge. Honda City went out of its way to be helpful once corporate contacted them. While I am very happy with how this was resolved, I must agree with some of your other readers have said. This is a known defect, and no one should have to go through all this trouble just to get the transmission fixed.

K. O.

Wantagh, NY, USA

SEND A COMMENT »
Add A Complaint
problem #125

2010Nov 02

Accord Special Edition 2.3L I-4

  • Automatic transmission
  • 125,000 miles

i have had several different makes and models of Asian cars over the years , including various Honda accords and civics. .. and all of them ive run up over 250,000 miles on the odometer before i sell em off and find another with less miles. all of my previous cars were manual transmission though.. this is my first automatic accord. and the problem that I'm experiencing is hard shifting of the transmission between 1st & 2nd , and very hard transmission engagement from a rolling ( 10-30 mph approx.) start. thank goodness im a decent shade tree mechanic, as i cannot afford to have a mechanic fix the problem.. so bottom line IMHO.... if you want a reliable Honda, buy one with a manual transmission. sucks i had to learn this lesson the hard way.. :(

sandwich

Lafayette, OR, USA

SEND A COMMENT »
Add A Complaint
problem #124

2010Nov 29

Accord

  • Automatic transmission
  • 104,000 miles

The issue with the 2002 Honda Accord transmission occurred most recently on the 405 freeway while traveling to UCLA. The engine light appeared as well as a blinking gear indicator, along with severe jerking motions. I quickly exited and coasted as much as possible to a nearby gas station.

The malfunction of such a highly defective transmission in traffic could have been fatal, fortunately it was not. Perhaps if there were a fatality or fatalities, Honda would be more proactive in recalling or compensating it's owners as did Toyota in recent time.

fav126

Los Angeles, CA, USA

SEND A COMMENT »
Add A Complaint
problem #123

2010Dec 01

Accord SE I4

  • Manual transmission
  • 120,000 miles

This is a known issue and Honda should be recalling it or fixing it. Called Honda of America and they said they wont be able to do anything and told me to call the service manager to have them call the district manager. I also see posts of people who got it fixed and them some who has the same issues being turned away. If they fix one, they should be fixing all others as well. I will never own another Honda again!

Victor C.

Washington, DC, USA

SEND A COMMENT »
Add A Complaint
problem #122

2010Dec 17

Accord LX 2.2L V4

  • Automatic transmission
  • 79,000 miles

Have always loved hondas until now. my 2002 honda accord transmission started failing at 79,000 miles. I had a 98 honda accord that ran over 300,000 miles never had to replace the tranny. Told it will cost about $3,000 to fix. Called and asked for a good will repair and was told there is no warranty on the vehicle or recalls and there was nothing they could do. Started doing research and realized the 02 hondas are known for this problem. Started doing more research and realized Honda's do not represent their past reputation. Sounds like a lot of cars of newer years are having problems too. Shame on you Honda. We should go on CNN and tell the world how bad honda is really getting. I will never own a honda again! Everyone - Hyundai has really stepped up and they offer a 100,000 mile warranty.

jkallen3

Los Osos, CA, USA

SEND A COMMENT »
Add A Complaint
problem #121

2010Dec 01

Accord EX V6 4 Speed 3.0L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 130,000 miles

Honda Transmission slips only after 120,000 miles. I am the original owner of the car, and they will not help in anyway to repair. I even offered to split the cost.

Dan B.

Xenia, OH, USA

SEND A COMMENT »
Add A Complaint
problem #120

2010Oct 01

Accord V6 3.0

  • Automatic transmission
  • 107,000 miles

Car hesitates and jerks in shifting in low gears. Check engine light with P0780 code for shift malfunction. Flushing of transmission fluid and replace with new still have same problem.

Doug S.

Binghamton, NY, USA

SEND A COMMENT »
Add A Complaint
problem #119

2010Dec 01

Accord SE 2.3L 4c

  • Automatic transmission
  • 106,000 miles

My transmission is going out on my 2002 Honda Accord SE Coupe. It rides very hard and slips/jerks while driving. The D4 light has been flashing as of late and the check engine light has also come on. This appears to be a systemic problem with Honda and should be fixed by them at no cost.

Tim J.

St. Joseph, IL, USA

SEND A COMMENT »
Add A Complaint
problem #118

2010Dec 01

Accord SE

  • Automatic transmission
  • 180,845 miles

OK....warranty expired on the transmission I have put in February 2009 (of course) and now the damn transmission is slipping AGAIN!!!! Thinking that some kind of "lemon law" should apply here. You won't EVER see me buying another Honda!!!! My son is driving this one now & I have bought a Toyota. We will not replace this lemon with another Honda...EVER, EVER, EVER!!!

milli925

Snellville, GA, USA

SEND A COMMENT »
Add A Complaint
problem #117

2009Jan 10

Accord V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 70,000 miles

Nothing much, just trying to figure out the least inexpensive way to fix this issue, I'm trying to prolong the life of my vehicle.

Jennifer S.

Newport News, VA, USA

SEND A COMMENT »
Add A Complaint
problem #116

2010Oct 01

Accord

  • 94,000 miles

The car is only 8 years old!! This is a Honda with 94,000 miles on it. The car would hop at stop signs or lights and then the check engine light came on. The torque converter came apart and there were metal shavings in the transmission oil. $2,000 to fix with a year warranty only. Could not afford $2,500 for a 3 year warranty.

Rhonda H.

Dickinson, TX, USA

SEND A COMMENT »
Add A Complaint
problem #115

2010Jan 01

Accord V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 100,000 miles

I RAN INTO A FRIEND, WHOM ALSO OWNED A 2002 HONDA ACCORD, SHE TOLD ME THAT MOST 2002 HONDA ACCORDS HAVE HAD BAD TRANSMISSIONS. SHE THOUGHT I KNEW ABOUT ALL THE TRANSMISSION PROBLEMS AND REPORTS ON 2002 MODELS. SHE THEN STATED THAT SHE HAD PAID SO MUCH MONEY INTO REPAIRS THAT SHE ULTIMATELY BROUGHT A TOYOTA. SO, NOW HERE I AM HIGHLY FRUSTRATED WITH MY TRANSMISSIONS PROBLEMS. I DON'T WANT TO SPEND OVER $2000 IN REPAIRS. I LOVE MY HONDA, I REALLY DIDN'T ANTICIPATE TO HAVE THESE PROBLEMS NOW. NOW THAT I HAVE VISITED THIS SITE, I KNOW I'M NOT ALONE.

tmckee25

Durham, NC, USA

SEND A COMMENT »
Add A Complaint
problem #114

2010Oct 03

Accord

  • Automatic transmission
  • 98,000 miles

I have owned Honda Accord all my life; this is the 4th. All have lasted way beyond the
200 k. NOT this one it started shifting hard close to 100k. I called Honda and they are not being helpful. I've been checking, not only on the internet but also with other 2002 Honda owners. Lots of transmission problems. What do we need to do to get a class action lawsuit? Please is there a lawyer out there that can help us???? Honda should pay, if not all, at least 1/2 minimum.

Ana D.

Silver Spring, MD, USA

SEND A COMMENT »
Add A Complaint
problem #113

2010Nov 11

Accord EX 1.8

  • Automatic transmission
  • 87,000 miles

I can not believe that Honda corporate has not made a full recall of this car. My mechanic knows about this issue being a wide spread one and that many Accords and Civics are affected.

keleshian

Chicago, IL, USA

SEND A COMMENT »
Add A Complaint
problem #112

2010Oct 15

Accord 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 87,928 miles

My transmission is slipping and shifting hard and the repair shop says it will cost about $2200 to rebuild the transmission. I can't drive the car very far for fear of complete transmission failure. I hope Honda will live up to it's reputation and fix it.

angelaar

Conway, AR, USA

SEND A COMMENT »
Add A Complaint
problem #111

2010Sep 01

Accord 4cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 93,000 miles

After reviewing the comments on this site,I realized I am experiencing the same transmission issue with my 2002 Honda Accord which has approximately 93,000 miles. I bought this car new. Very disappointing considering I have owned Honda's for the past 25 years. I have been holding off buying a new car until the spring but unfortunately I have been experiencing transmission problems and just had this confirmed with my mechanic. He said this is a known issue with the make of car and to either replace the transmission or replace the car. Now that I know this is a known issue and Honda is not going to do any sort of recall, I will be looking at cars other than Honda. I am extremely disappointed.

mspa

Erie, PA, USA

SEND A COMMENT »
Add A Complaint
problem #110

2010Oct 03

Accord LX

  • Automatic transmission
  • 65,000 miles

I purchased a 2002 Honda Accord LX from an original owner, two months ago. As of now the speedometer reads just over 65000 miles and tthe engine revs high until it hits 20mph and then bangs into second gear and then does the same thing going into third. When coming to a stop it again jumps forward and thereby could possibly hit a pedestrian or ram into the car in front of it.

ANY CAR THAT UNPREDICTABLY JERKS/LURCHES FORWARD AND COULD RAM INTO THE CAR OR A PERSON IN FRONT OF THEM IS A SAFETY HAZARD.

After researching this problem online i noticed that I'm not alone with this problem and I believe it's a manufacturing defect and this has to be recalled and replaced at Honda's expense.

Lisa A.

Coral Springs, FL, USA

SEND A COMMENT »
Add A Complaint
problem #109

2010Oct 04

Accord LX 3.0L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 90,000 miles

I bought this car yesterday and today when I went to work the transmission started shifting rough. I have discovered this is a common problem with the 2002 Honda Accord and this should be repaired.

Andrew F.

Roanoke, VA, USA

SEND A COMMENT »
Add A Complaint
problem #108

2010Sep 30

Accord ES V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 69,300 miles

Took veh into dealer as check iengine light was on and veh was not shifting properly. Was told by dealer that I needed a new transmission at the cost of $3700., but that since I had such low mileage Honda might cover it. I have called around to other independent Transmission shops and was told by several that this is a common problem with the Accords and that it shoudl only cost between $1700-$2200. I'm waiting for word from the dealer if Honda will pay all the cost or part of it.

Regina G.

Menlo Park, CA, USA

SEND A COMMENT »
Add A Complaint
problem #107

2010Sep 27

Accord SE

  • Automatic transmission
  • 53,000 miles

I bought the car brand new with only 35 miles on it in April 2002. It has been sitting in my garage since august 2007 because of personall reasons. When I finally get to driving it again in September 2010 the transmission starts to slip and shifts hard. WTF! ! ! I bought it cause I love Hondas, but now I don't know.

Jonathan T.

Hesperia, CA, USA

SEND A COMMENT »
Add A Complaint
problem #106

2010Sep 10

Accord LX 3.2L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 82,500 miles

wow, what an education I just got. No longer can you buy a Honda with confidence. Obviously 2002 Accords have major problems with the automatic transmissions. Going to go thru the hoops with Honda on this but I'm sure they will deny our claim.
Our car has been taken care of and is in excellent shape at 82,000 miles.

Please everyone complain and register your complaints with Honda for a possible future class action lawsuit.

best to all

Daniel L.

Superior, CO, USA

SEND A COMMENT »
Add A Complaint
problem #105

2007May 22

Accord LX

  • Automatic transmission
  • 56,000 miles

A five year old transmission with 56,000 miles on it, especially in a Honda, which is supposed to be a reputable car, should not have to be replaced.

Hayley A.

Port Charlotte, Florida, USA

SEND A COMMENT »
Add A Complaint
problem #104

2010Sep 03

Accord

  • Automatic transmission
  • 110,000 miles

BABY A CAR WELL I DO, AND WHERE DOES IT GET YOU ( TO TRANSMISSION ISSUES.) NOTICE THE OTHER COMPLAINTS AND WOW FUNNY HOW CLOSE IN THE MILEAGE WE ARE. I THINK THAT THERE WAS OF SAYING ITS TIME TO BUY A NEW CAR. MOST ISSUES REGARDING VEHICLES IN LONG TIME SPANS SEEM TO KEEP DISHONEST CAR DEALERSHIPS IN BUSINESS. THIS DOES NOT MAKE ME RUN OUT TO BUY A NEW HONDA. I THINK BEFORE YOU BUY A NEW CAR MAYBE WE NEED TO WRITE UP OUR OWN CONTRACTS. IF SEVERAL OF THE SAME COMPLAINTS COME IN ON A VEHICLE THINGS NEED TO BE LOOKED AT A LITTLE DIFFERENTLY.... OH AND HONESTLY!

Patty D.

Fairfield, Ohio, USA

SEND A COMMENT »
Add A Complaint
problem #103

2010Jun 02

Accord LX

  • Automatic transmission
  • 105,000 miles

This is the second time I've had transmission problems in my car within 3 years. The first time I had my transmission replaced, a used one was put in, resulting in the same issue.

Hayley A.

Port Charlotte, Florida, USA

SEND A COMMENT »
Add A Complaint
problem #102

2010Sep 20

Accord ES 3.2L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 84,790 miles

My 2002 Honda Accord Coupe is top of the line everything, with all the bells and whistles. Today, my transmission wouldn't go into gear for my wife. I was able to get it into gear by placing my foot on the brake and reving the engine until it caught. The car worked fine when it was on the Freeway, but at every stop the Transmission did it again and again.

This is a dangerous circumstance. First, if the Transmission won't engage, the danger of someone rear ending you is really a possibility. But worse, if the car lunges when the Tranny engages, you are very probably going to ram into someone.

This is a genuine problem and I think Honda should stand up and make a recall on these cars. It is pretty unbelievable that they don't consider this a hazardous circumstance in view of uncontrollable lunging, etc.

Jim P.

Garden Grove, CA, USA

SEND A COMMENT »
Add A Complaint
problem #101

2010Sep 13

Accord SE V4

  • Automatic transmission
  • 77,302 miles

Faulty torque converter damaged my transmission to the point where both need to be replaced. Dealership said that if the torque converter would have been replaced earlier, the transmission could have been saved, but they had no way to diagnose the problem until the computer sent the appropriate codes. By then it was too late - and I was also driving, in traffic, when suddenly my car wouldn't shift out of first gear.

Catherine W.

St. Petersburg, FL, USA

SEND A COMMENT »
Add A Complaint
problem #100

2009Aug 12

Accord EX V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 100,000 miles

I bought the car brand new in 2002 and loved it! Then a couple of years later the transmission went bad and needed to be replaced luckily under warranty. after the replacement, 45,000 miles later THE SECOND transmission blew and i had to pay out pocket. finally I was so fed up with the transmission problems (and throwing away money and time) i traded it in for a new honda accord 2010.

this was frustrating to me because anyone who saw my car said "wow looks brand new". i kept up with all the maintenence, regular oil changes, changed spark plugs, and EVERYTHING you can imagine to keep a car like new. it wsa a shame that all the money i put into the car, the transmission was actually FAULTY FOR THAT YEAR MAKE OF THE CAR!!!! Why wasnt there a recall????

I should get some osrt of reimbursement for all the money i spent coupled with the fact that i traded it in for another honda...that 2002 shold have lasted me AT LEAST another year. Im a teacher im nyc (far from rich) and wished i was able to rely on a car that i took such good care of.

Christina M.

West Islip, NY, USA

SEND A COMMENT »
Add A Complaint
problem #99

2010Jun 01

Accord LX V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 120,000 miles

Add me to the list of 2002 Accord owners experiencing transmission problems. In reading all the postings on this site, it seems I've been lucky to get this far before my transmission started seriously acting up. So far, the hesitation and slipping problems are primarily around 1st and 2nd gear. I have noticed also the the TCS light often comes on when the vehicle reaches a speed of 50+ miles.

I have been a dedicated Honda buyer for my entire adult life. I plan on calling my dealer tomorrow. Will post an update later. I keep reading about a class action lawsuit. Is anyone aware of any actual progress being made towards this end?

mhoran

Conway, NH, USA

SEND A COMMENT »
Add A Complaint
problem #98

2010Mar 01

Accord V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 80,000 miles

My husband and I bought this car thinking it would be the last car we would need. I am handicapped and in a wheelchair and have hand controls on the car to make it easier for me to drive.

The transmission has started to fail before the car has even reached 100K. We are told that we will either need to repair the solenoid switches or have the transmission entirely replaced. Seeing that there are hundreds of the same complaint on the 2002 Accord transmissions I feel that this is a problem that Honda needs to address and take care of.

I also feel that there is danger when driving the car because as the car jerks forward when downshifting at a stop sign it gives such a jolt that if the driver isn't pressing hard on the brake the car could move into the oncoming traffic. Because I'm using hand controls my confidence in the situation is worrisome and I'd rather not drive the car until the matter is fixed.

Joanne T.

Rogue River, OR, USA

SEND A COMMENT »
Add A Complaint
problem #97

2010Aug 12

Accord LX 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 110,000 miles

honda accord trannys are p.o.s.!!, went tru 2 in 2 years.

lmicinski

Mishawaka, IN, USA

SEND A COMMENT »
Add A Complaint
problem #96

2009Jul 01

Accord EX 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 95,000 miles

I bought this car for my wife in November 2001, brand new: a 2002 Honda Accord EX. I have always done the regular maintenance on this car.

Around 90,000 miles it started shifting weird, we took it to the Honda dealership in Lewisville, TX and they said it needed a new transmission. I threw A FIT and wondered why a Honda would fall apart so quickly. The salesman called someone to see if they could cover some of the costs and they said 20% if we can down all the maintenance records over the past 9 YEARS! Come on, really?! They told me the tranny fluid looked fine when it was changed.

I will never buy another Honda if this is the way Honda treats their customers. I have always thought of Honda being the strongest, longest lasting cars on the road. To keep that reputation they need to fix these problems and get us back on the road. BULLCRAP!

Gary S.

Lewisville, Texas, USA

SEND A COMMENT »
Add A Complaint
problem #95

2004Nov 03

Accord EX V4

  • Automatic transmission
  • 100,500 miles

I bought a Honda because at the time they had a good reputation for being reliable car. My transmission would catch some from the start but in got worse. I took it into my local dealership and they said they didn't see any problem and no recalls were issued. I took it to another dealership in a different town and same thing. They acted like they had not heard of any problems. Then I find out that they are seeing issues with the v6 which does not pertain to me. Yet if Honda has tranny problems with some many different makes and models wouldn't that tell you they make a faulty transmission.

I think they need to step up to the plate be accountable for this and take care of Honda customers. The longer they ignore this it will end up in a class action and cost them so much more in the end. I hope this kills Honda's reputation and I'm going to do my part telling everyone I meet the truth about Honda.

borr

Dallas, TX, USA

SEND A COMMENT »
Add A Complaint

Read the next 50 complaints »