10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
58,478 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Chevrolet Trailblazer:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

problem #236

Aug 012012

Trailblazer

  • miles
The speedometer, gas gauge and RPM gauges stopped working shortly after we purchased this vehicle used. I understand that this is an issue that has not be taken care of. Please do something.

- Fife Lake, MI, USA

problem #235

Oct 202008

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 55,000 miles
Had erratic speed readings on my 2004 Chevy Trailblazer (e.g., reading 140 while driving to work, or stuck on 20 mpg while stopped!). an obvious safety issue. There are blogs all over the internet complaining about this issue and stating that the original instrument cluster stepper motors are defective. Based on this research, I purchased replacement stepper motors on ebay, personally soldered in replacement stepper motors into the instrument cluster, and it corrected the problem. Why were the stepper motors never recalled?

- Golden, CO, USA

problem #234

Jan 172013

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 130,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Chevrolet Trailblazer. The contact stated that while driving 45 mph, the instrument panel failed and the speedometer was providing an inaccurate speed reading. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer for inspection and was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified. The failure mileage was 130,000. Updated 03/01/13 updated 4/24/13

- Pickens, SC, USA

problem #233

Dec 202011

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • miles
In December 2011 my RPM gauge stop working. I did some research and found that there are several complaints about the same problem with the 2004 Chevy Trailblazer. Then, on December 7,2012 my speedometer stop working and now all the other gauges are starting to malfunction. There are recalls on this same problems for 2005 and 2006 Trailblazers. GM didn't issue a recall on the 2004 Chevy Trailblazers. I filed a compliant with the attorney general's office against General Motors. A representative from General Motors called and said there was not anything that they could do, because the vehicle has met its life expectancies. They will not doing anything because my vehicle is over 100,000 miles. He basically told me that once the vehicle reaches 100,000 miles that General Motors does not stand behind their product.

- Detroit, MI, USA

problem #232

Jan 192013

Trailblazer

  • 105,427 miles
Speedometer stuck at 0 mph even when vehicle was in motion on highway.

- Stratford, CT, USA

problem #231

Jan 022012

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 70,000 miles
While driving on the freeway with my family the speedometer and tach stopped working. We have been calling GM to find a solution with no results. I have come to realize that I am one of many with this same issue with their 2004 Trailblazer. We cannot understand how GM can say that this is not a safety issue when this puts our children and families in danger when ever they are in a vehicle that is not producing accurate feedback concerning our speed and performance of the vehicle.

- Vallejo, CA, USA

problem #230

Jul 022012

Trailblazer

  • 50,000 miles
I have the same problem that an earlier blogger as, all my gauges are stuck, the speedometer is stuck, the oil gauge stuck, gas gauge stuck, I think GM needs to take control of their problem and correct it, not just say it's not a problem they will not fix. There needs to be a recall for this problem pin the Trailblazer trucks.

- West Grove, PA, USA

problem #229

Oct 212011

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • 84,000 miles
Love the vehicle except the fact all my gauges stick.... GM had told me this has to be safety issue in order to be recalled... I'm pretty sure not knowing how fast I am going on the highway is a safety issue... especially with little children in the car. This is unacceptable. I refuse to pay for a defect that is happening in many GM vehicles... if I can find all the complaints I'm sure GM can as well. How do we get GM to fix these problems and try to keep customers"??"

- Erie , PA, USA

problem #228

Jan 012010

Trailblazer

  • 70,000 miles
This issue needs to be addressed, my speedometer and trans meter on left of speedometer started showing my Chevrolet speed was 80 miles an hour even in park. Then while I drive it will move to 100 miles an hour while I'm driving 35, and it moves up and down depending on my speed. Some times it will work other times it will not show the correct speed, or acceleration on trans meter to the left of speedometer. I have went online and seen 1000's of people saying the same thing at the same miles of the Chevrolet. 70,000-90,000 most are around 80,000. Shouldn't this have been recalled years ago" and why have this issue been ignored for so long"

- Somersworth, NH, USA

problem #227

Jan 092012

Trailblazer

  • miles
One day when I was driving I stopped my vehicle and the speedometer read 60 mph at a standstill. As I continued to accelerate it increased until it reached well past 120 mph. Each time the vehicle is stopped the speedometer sometimes goes back but never to 0. the RPM does not function at all, and not sure when that stopped working. The speedometer did fix itself and then started again a month later. The second time is when the problem started with the RPM not functioning. I have seen multiple incidents with people complaining of these same issues and have saved the issues. I contacted the dealer and they are stating that this is not a manufacturers defect and stated it is $300 to replace a "internal fault in the dash cluster." This is what I was told by someone in the service department at a Chevrolet dealership.

- Aurora, IL, USA

problem #226

Jan 022012

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • miles
Speedometer and tach works erratically. Speedometer works approx. 25% of the time.

- Irondale, MO, USA

problem #225

Sep 282011

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 78,000 miles
Speedometer does not register proper speed. Reads at 0 mph when going 65mph or any other mph for that matter. At no time is the speedometer ever accurate.

- Bellingham, MA, USA

problem #224

Jul 012010

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Chevrolet Trailblazer. While at a stop light, the contact noticed the speedometer was providing a speed reading of 60 mph. The reading of the other gauges on the instrument panel also fluctuated erratically. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer for diagnostic testing or repairs. The approximate failure mileage was 60,000. Updated 02/14/12 updated 02/17/12

- Franklin, OH, USA

problem #223

Nov 272009

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 55,380 miles
Speedometer said I was doing 100 miles a hour tack does not work gas hand goes way pass full and when I stop and put $25 of gas in you know it is not full so not for sure if oil pressure & temp gauge is right but it is not over heating guess I will know when steam comes out from under the hood GM recall some of the cluster why not the Trailblazer.

- Narrows , WV, USA

problem #222

Nov 182011

Trailblazer

  • 66,000 miles
The speedometer stopped working today. I checked online to see if anyone else was having the same problem. Apparently there is a lot of us all experiencing the same problem. I don't think it is fair that we all have to pay $500 to repair the problem. If we are all having the same problem there is obviously something wrong.

- Dayton , OH, USA

problem #221

Sep 162009

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • 64,210 miles
Instrument cluster fails to operate properly. The speedometer stopped working first, then battery, gas, and temperature gauges failed to work properly. Finally, there is no odometer reading or gear indicator showing on cluster.

- Orangeville, PA, USA

problem #220

Aug 162011

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • 100,000 miles
Instrument panel failure, ran out of gas on a busy four lane highway during morning rush hour. I was in the left hand lane and was unable to move to the shoulder. I now became a major traffic problem until some nice citizen helped me push the truck out of harms way, having to stop both lanes of traffic so I could cross. Had I a working gas gauge I feel this would not have happened, none of the instruments in the vehicle work, Chevy has recalled other models of this year with the same problems, but not the Trailblazer. Why?

- Lakeland, FL, USA

problem #219

Mar 012011

Trailblazer

  • 70,000 miles
My instrument panel on my 2004 Trailblazer is slowly not functioning. It started off with my tachometer and now my gas gauge is not working. My vehicle has not been neglected and is serviced when needed. The gauges are not working now on a daily basis. I have yet to replace the part due to cost and also because many people are having the same issue that I am having.

- Mount Juliet, TN, USA

problem #218

Mar 012011

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 69,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Chevrolet Trailblazer. The contact stated that the instrument cluster was defective. The speedometer did not indicate the speed in which the vehicle was traveling and the tacometer was also defective. The vehicle was not taken to have the failure diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified, but denied any assistance with the repair of the vehicle. The contact also stated that the front drivers side headlight would constantly burn out, causing the headlight to melt and emit smoke. The failure mileage was 69,000 and the current mileage was 72,000. Updated 09/19/11

- Anchorage, AK, USA

problem #217

Jun 122011

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 55,200 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Chevrolet trailer Blazer. The contact stated that the instrumental panel failed as the vehicle was started. The manufacturer was contacted and advised the contact to have the dealer diagnose the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and the current mileage was 55,200. Updated 07/20/11 updated 08/26/11

- Asheboro , NC, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »