10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
12,876 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Chevrolet Malibu:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #78

Oct 182004

Malibu

  • Automatic transmission
  • 26,700 miles
While driving 60 mph the steering wheel locked. The consumer pulled over and restarted the vehicle. The horn did not work as well. Ea04018_cat

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #77

Oct 202004

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 7,000 miles
The power steering on my Malibu failed. GM has acknowledged a problem and replaced a connector or module under warranty, but there has been no recall to cover this known problem. Oddly enough, the loaner car they provided my wife had the same problem. Why isn't this getting greater attention before something serious happens? ea04018_cat

- Warrenton, VA, USA

problem #76

Oct 132004

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 3,124 miles
While driving, the steering locked up. The consumer took the vehicle to the dealer and they replaced the electronic column. Ea04018_cat the steering tightened and gradually became almost impossible to steer at that time. The warning panel showed steering locked. Failure corrected.

- Westfield, NJ, USA

problem #75

Oct 172004

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 18,450 miles
Steering wheel often "jumpy". moves back and forth while at a stand still. 2 days ago, power steering went off, was able to steer car with difficulty, but had no power steering. Power steering warning message came on. Service warning came on. Ea04018_cat

- Louisville, OH, USA

problem #74

Oct 162004

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 6,030 miles
On Saturday, 16 Oct 2004, while running errands, the electric assist power steering began pulsating/vibrating the steering wheel and pulling the wheel to the right. The pulsation/vibration continued even while the vehicle was in park. It only stopped when the engine was shut off. Upon restarting the engine the symptoms disappeared for a short period of time, only to return as before. The vibration is no better or worse at highway speeds than at local speeds, or standing still. On Monday, 18 Oct 2004, the vehicle was taken to jim reed Chevrolet, nashville, tn, where the symptoms presented themselves in front of the service manager. He said that he had "just received a tsb" concerning this problem. He kept the vehicle for the day and replaced the steering column assembly. The problem has not yet reoccurred. Ea04018_cat.

- Nashville, TN, USA

problem #73

Oct 162004

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 13,765 miles
About 3 weeks ago I noticed cog-wheeling of the steering wheel when attempting to turn right. It was intermittent, but began to increase in frequency with vibration through the steering wheel. Today, while driving the power steering quit working completely. I was about 25 miles from home, and had to drive with no power steering the entire way. I will contact the dealer on the next business day. The car is currently not safe to drive. We own two 2004 Malibu's, the other Malibu had the same problem several months ago and had to have the steering column replaced. The repair took almost 3 weeks due to back-ordered parts. Ea04018_cat

- Canton, MI, USA

problem #72

Oct 032004

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 8,500 miles
The power steering failed on my 2004 Chevrolet Malibu on 3 occasions during the weekend of Oct. 2 2004. I put the car in reverse and I heard a chime. I looked at the dic and saw "power steering". there was also a service light on the ip. There was no power assist at all, and it was very difficult to steer. I shut the vehicle off and restarted. It seemed ok. It then failed two more times with the same symptoms, but this time I was in a busy intersection. I am taking the vehicle to the dealer asap. I saw many other complaints on this site about the very same issue, so I thought I would let you know about mine. Ea04018_cat

- Madison Heights, MI, USA

problem #71

Oct 022004

Malibu 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 11,412 miles
On October 2, 2004, the power steering stopped working for the second time. Steering was very difficult and even more difficult since I am 4 months pregnant. I had to drive the car about 10 miles to the dealership to have them to look at it again. They had to keep over the weekend. The service advisor turned the car off and back on again to see what would happened and the power steering begin to work again. For several months now I have had issues with the steering on this Malibu and nothing has been done to resolve those issues. Either the problem had to be duplicated by the technician or they were not able to find the codes in the diagnostic system to see what the problem was. I was just informed by the service advisor that the car is ready and the power steering column module had to be replaced and that should fix the problem. I hope so. I have only had the car for a little while now. Ea04018_cat

- Dallas, TX, USA

problem #70

Aug 012004

Malibu

  • 8,000 miles
While driving steering wheel vibrated out control to the point it felt like the steering wheel was going to jump out of the window. When making right turns consumer could hear a clicking sound. Took the vehicle to the dealer. They repaired the steering problem. However, . the noise problem recurred. Ea04018_cat steering wheel jerking back and forth.

- District Heights, MD, USA

problem #69

Sep 282004

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 14,893 miles
While driving power steering pump failed. The consumer took the vehicle to dealer for inspection, and mechanic determined that the power steering pump needed to be replaced. Ea04018_cat currently the vehicle still does not steer properly. The vehicle was taken four times before the service dealer to say it was okay. The headlights shined too high, there was a vibration when the vehicle was in motion and was unable to be duplicated.

- Coeburn, VA, USA

problem #68

Sep 062004

Malibu

  • 4,000 miles
While driving consumer lost power steering. Consumer pulled over and restarted the vehicle. Dealership was notifed, but did not resolve the problem. Ea04018_cat the consumer stated that the power steering is electric not hydraulic on this vehicle.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #67

Sep 062004

Malibu

  • Automatic transmission
  • 6,800 miles
When driving vehicle in reverse steering wheel locked. Also, steering wheel shook and vibrated, even when the vehicle was not in motion. Ea04018_cat

- Danville, IL, USA

problem #66

Sep 152004

Malibu

  • Automatic transmission
  • 5,102 miles
While driving, the power steering failed. The consumer had great difficulty controlling the vehicle. Manufacturer stated that there were no complaints on this defect. Ea04018_cat.

- El Segundo, CA, USA

problem #65

Sep 082004

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 6,300 miles
Vehicle lost power steering assist while coming to a stop light. Thevehicle was taken to the dealer. Dealer replaced a column kit. Ea04018_cat

- High Point, NC, USA

problem #64

Sep 112004

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 9,100 miles
Steering problem. Steering in the morning was erratic seemed to hunt. Took the car to the dealer and was told it was a sensor problem, dealer had to order part, car still drivable. Next morning the steering was the same, after work I came out started the car, steering was still shaky, after pulling out onto the road I lost all power steering, service alarm light came on and power steering failure notification on console. I took car directly to the dealer, received loaner while they repair car. Was told all parts must be returned to determine failure mode. Ea04018_cat

- Sewickley, PA, USA

problem #63

Sep 132004

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 2,750 miles
On 4 occasions during the past week the power steering feature failed while car was in operation. This could have caused collisions. Ea04018_cat

- Satellite Beach, FL, USA

problem #62

Sep 112004

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 5,720 miles
Our 2004 Chevrolet Malibu lt (V6, loaded with all options except for onstar) has between 5500 and 6000 miles on it now. Recently, my wife reported an issue with the steering wheel brating "nervously" while idling in line to drop my daughter off to school. This vibration / movement did not actually move the wheels, and she returned home safely.the problem was intermittent, but one morning as she prepared to leave, she noticed the vibration problem again, and wishing to show it to me, called me to the garage. I witnessed the palsy-like movement of the steering wheel and again noted that the tires didn't move with the wheel. After this occurred, I returned to the house (making a note to myself for our next visit to the dealership's service department). Less than five minutes later, I heard a knock at the door, which turned out to be my 8 year old daughter (who had gone with my wife). She told me that the steering had "broken" and that my wife was trying to maneuver the car back to the house. I went out to the end of the drive, to find my wife attempting to fight to get the car back onto our street. I stopped her, took over the car, turned off the ignition, then restarted the car. This restored the power steering, at which point I parked the car in the garage, and the wife took our other vehicle. I had already read of this issue on several bulletin boards around the web, and my car is a relatively early 2004 build Malibu. However, there has as yet been no official recall from Chevrolet, and as I see that there is an ongoing investigation by the NHTSA into this issue, I felt I should report yet another instance of the same problem as was experienced by the other 8 drivers mentioned by the investigation. I consider the twitching steering wheel to be a single failure, and combined with the actual loss of power assist once so far, have indicated 2 failures. My car is currently scheduled to be looked at by the local dealership later today. Ea04018_cat

- Old Fort, NC, USA

problem #61

Aug 132004

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 7,000 miles
After driving 2004 Malibu about 5 minutes, the power steering failed while waiting at a stop light. The orange warning symbol was flashing on the instrument display. Got car to a safe area and shut off engine and checked owners manual for more information. *akrestarted engine and streering resumed working. Drove home without anymore problems. Called Chevrolet toll free assistance number for advise and they advised having the car towed to a dealer for repairs - they were not aware of any service bulletins or recalls. Local dealer found a service bulletin and ordered parts to correct problem - changed defective part and tested. No further problems to this time. I was informed by NHTSA that a improved part was made available in July to correct this potentially dangerous problem. I have not received any notification from Chevrolet that an "improved' was used in the repair and the problem has been in their opinion corrected.

- Mt. Iron, MN, USA

problem #60

Sep 072004

Malibu 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 4,440 miles
Vehicle 3 times would not start. Took into dealer and was told they could not find anything. On 9/5/04 was driving and the car made a ding ding and steering wheel locked. Stopped and turn car off and back on and was okay. Two days later was making a left hand turn and again the ding ding and steering wheel locked. Had car towed to dealer. Dealer called and said they had to replaced steering column and would call when complete. Dealer called and said steering column was replaced but new steering column during same thing. Currently I have a rental from dealer ship. Ea04018_cat

- Whitaker, PA, USA

problem #59

Sep 032004

Malibu

  • miles
At approximately 10,000 miles, my 2004 Chevrolet Malibu developed a steering problem. Upon starting the car, the steering wheel visibly shook and pulled when I tried to turn right. I called the dealership and they had to order a replacement part. When the part came in a week and a half later, they replaced the steering column. Ea04018_cat.

- Sumner, WA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »