10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
74,788 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Chevrolet Impala:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #107

Jan 062010

Impala

  • miles
My car leaves me stranded for hours before it starts. Passlock/passkey II is the worst thing Chevy ever created. While driving the gauges go off and on; and the car shuts the fuel off. Being said my sister used my car one day and the fuel shut off, the car died, and she was rear ended. Thankfully it was a bump and she wasn't seriously injured. I'm always late for work and I have replaced the BCM, ignition switch, and tumbler. Nothing is resolved. I've been home stranded for a week, which has caused me to miss school. Due to the lack of money I am forced to withdraw from college and this is my senior year which throws my out of my internship. Chevy needs to recall this "passlock" feature and reimburse all of the people they have swindled. This is there fault and we, the consumers, should not have to pay for it. This feature allows owners to not be able to use their vehicles, and a professional thief can steal the car. Research shows that thousands of consumers are having this problem and still nothing has been done, and frankly, I do not think anything ever will be. I for one will never purchase a Chevy again.

- Ethel, LA, USA

problem #106

Jan 022011

Impala

  • 72,000 miles
Passlock 2 system failed causing the vehicle to stall while driving. Vehicle would not start.

- Aurora, IL, USA

problem #105

Dec 082010

Impala

  • miles
Headlights suddenly went out while in operation.

- Westville, IN, USA

problem #104

Aug 182010

Impala 6-cyl

  • 57,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Chevrolet Impala. The contact stated that the vehicle had no power when he attempted to start it. The contact replaced the battery the first time but the remedy did not correct the problem. The vehicle was inspected by a mechanic who advised that the vehicle would need a new body control module. The mechanic advised that the failure was caused by the module being burned out by the ignition switch. The vehicle was not inspected by an authorized dealer nor repaired. The failure mileage was unknown and the current mileage was 57,000. Updated 02/03/11 the consumer was told to wait 15 minutes and then start the vehicle. The consumer stated he should no have to wait to start the vehicle. Updated 03/22/11

- East Meadow, NY, USA

problem #103

Nov 102010

Impala 6-cyl

  • 86,000 miles
2002 Impala "passkey" system fails... no start condition, leaves driver and passengers stranded.

- Largo, FL, USA

problem #102

Jan 022009

Impala

  • miles
Intermittent passlock failure caused car not to start have to wait 20-30 minutes to start my car.

- Liberty Hill, TX, USA

problem #101

Oct 262010

Impala

  • 85,000 miles
At times the cab of the 2002 Chevy Impala seems to overheat and when you try to start it all of the warning lights flash, including headlights, then it won't start.

- Muskogee, OK, USA

problem #100

Sep 122010

Impala

  • 140,000 miles
2002 Impala in the check engine light box the low coolant light and the security lights also shows and the battery light then the engine dies in the middle of traffic I have seen so many and more people with Impala in dangerous moments talking of it online could you please have Chevy correct this deadly mess got the problem fixed then it started back I do have kids active in school sports needing transportation I can not describe how being stranded in traffic makes me feel.

- Orl, FL, USA

problem #99

Oct 162008

Impala

  • 67,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Chevrolet Impala. The contact stated that the security system on the vehicle would lock up and the vehicle would not start as a result. The failure occurred at least once every week at any time. The contact would have to wait and keep attempting to start the vehicle; eventually, it would start. The battery, alternator and starter were replaced but the failure continued to occur. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer where the contact was informed that the wiring system needed to be replaced. The vehicle had not been repaired. The manufacturer had not been notified. The current mileage was approximately 127,000. The failure mileage was approximately 67,000.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #98

Mar 012010

Impala 6-cyl

  • 118,000 miles
Unknown reason as to why the directionals on my 02 Impala work intermittently. This first occurred approximately 4 months ago with average occurrence of once a week. Now it occurs approximately once a day. Mechanic cannot find a solid reason as to why this is occurring and cannot replicate it at the time the vehicle is in the shop.

- Green Island , NY, USA

problem #97

Jan 012010

Impala

  • miles
2002 Chevy Impala. The turn signals often fail to activate, creating a road hazard. Apparently a common problem on that time period Impala. Suspected a faulty multi-function switch.

- Coral Springs, FL, USA

problem #96

Jul 152010

Impala

  • 147,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Chevrolet Impala. Upon starting the vehicle and shifting it into drive she could hear a clicking noise coming from the steering column and fuse box under the engine. She also stated that whenever she shuts the vehicle off the high beams will continue to flicker on and off. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where she was informed the vehicle was built with a faulty body control module. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 147,050 and the current mileage was 147,432. Updated 11/05/10.

- St Robert, MO, USA

problem #95

Aug 082010

Impala

  • 115,000 miles
Blinkers were intermittently working and now not working at all. Brake lights and hazards working. Fuses replaced. See online that many people report this same problem.

- Bowie, MD, USA

problem #94

May 012010

Impala 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Chevrolet Impala. The contact stated when the security light would illuminate, the vehicle would not start. The dealer advised the contact to wait ten minutes before re-starting the vehicle, but the vehicle could only be diagnosed while the failure occurred. The dealer advised that the computer chip potentially would need to be replaced but could not confirm if it would correct the failure. The failure mileage was 60,000 and the current mileage is 62,576. Updated 10/04/10. The dealer replaced the ignition cylinder. Updated 10/05/10

- Allison Park , PA, USA

problem #93

Jun 202010

Impala

  • 102,863 miles
Went to work and when I went to leave the car wouldn't start- thought it was the battery and got a jump, wouldn't start. Had the car towed to auto place, and they couldn't find anything wrong, then after that the car has left me stranded and unable to get to work its shut off while driving- the security light was on, after the many complaints to Chevy- they wont assist with the repair of the pass lock security system for the simple reason its out of warranty. Its not a maintenance issue its a mechanical issue. Its also a safety issue. The car just shuts off as if someone is stealing it. How dangerous- on route 80 highway or any road for that matter, your car shuts off and your smashed from behind with cars piled up- someone will be dead andmany will be serious hurt. Or being stranded on a dark country road with no cell reception. This is a safety issue and after alot of research on this problem- GM"S response' sorry we cant help you- today Toyota recalled 412K cars, because of steering issue and was a safety issue. Nissan, Toyota, and Honda didn't need bailouts why because they stand behind their cars unlike GM- this is a big issue with hundreds of thousands of people complaining and GM as usual does nothing to stand behind their products. I will never again purchase a GM product as its a complete piece of garbage and the ones working for GM aren't any better. Let GM sink and go under, that way americans will have more reliable transportation and companies that actually stand behind safety issues with their cars. It amazes me how GM can take bailouts- to keepthem afloat but wont do anything to back their vehicles, sooner or later they will sink and they will all be sitting there dumbfounded scratching their heads wondering oh gee what happened, you didn't stand behind your cars moron that's what happened, and people went to more reliable companies. 13K for a 2002 Impala ls, guess its time to take it to the junk yard very unsafe and no peace of mind to drive the garbage.

- Tobyhanna, PA, USA

problem #92

Jun 102008

Impala

  • 79,000 miles
On my 2002 Chevy Impala, the keyless entry remote doesn't work and car will not start after being driven all day and sitting for a few minutes. Had to replace computer module just so that communication could be started. And had to replace ignition switch.

- Milwaukee, WI, USA

problem #91

May 202010

Impala

  • 127,000 miles
The starter will not get a signal from the ignition switch. I have changed relays, ignition switch, starter, key core and passlock, all to no gain. Gave vehicle to they local Chevy dealership who changed to BCM and reprogrammed the security feature and when I went to pick it up from the dealership, it wouldn't start. The starter gets no signal about 90% of the times I turn the key. For the 10% it does work, there seems to have had no issue what so ever. It turns on smooth and runs like a dream. Yet it can be the first attempt or the 50th before the starter catches a jolt and starts the car, there seems to be no pattern. The security system works fine B/C we installed a simple push button switch to the starter and it worked every time with no trouble for a few moments till the gas was taken away and the car turned off. Bypassing the security feature and allowing a secondary ignition methos would seem to resolve the issue. I find this to be a safety issue due to the potential of being stuck out in the middle of an intersection if the cars happens to stall. Or if an infant was loaded into the vehicle and it would not start for 15 to 30 minutes, leaving the child with the risk of heat issues. The problem itself came suddenly without warning.

- Orlando, FL, USA

problem #90

Apr 172010

Impala

  • 115,000 miles
My 2002 Impala will randomly not start. The message center flashes security, battery and service engine soon. I have to unhook and reconnect the battery to get the car to start. I do not want to drive it alone, as I live in a big city and do not want to be driving and the car malfunction. I have read numerous accounts of this happening to people with 2002 Impala. I have asthma and one day I started to have an attack. Husband was going to drive me to hospital and my car decides not to start. I could have died waiting for him to reconnect the battery. I paid GM for a reliable car but got a car that will start only when it wants to. This is unacceptable. It's messed up that I can't drive my car for fear of it not starting and being mugged or raped while trying to unhook/rehook the battery. GM should be held responsible for this. They don't want to though because they make too much money fixing something that they screwed up. I will never buy a GM again. Toyota and Honda from here on out!!!

- Forsyth, GA, USA

problem #89

May 152010

Impala

  • 130,000 miles
I have a 2002 Chevy Impala. The car behaves as though there is an electrical problem. My own research seemed to indicate a faulty BCM module. I took the car to a dealer and explained my suspicion and the odd intermittent problems, and they replaced the ignition switch and spent a lot of time trying to find a wiring problem. After 2 weeks they said they found the electrical problem and charged me $700. Now, a few weeks later all symptoms are back. When the key is turned on, the lights flash, truck latch opens and closes, and security light flashes. This is just 1 set of symptoms. This problem is very dangerous. I found this site while looking for help here: www.youtube.com/watch?V=gr-O5R1upfy&feature=related. Please help!

- Clarks Hill, IN, USA

problem #88

Apr 122010

Impala

  • 115,999 miles
Pass key sensor, I had to pay 500 dollars to fix an ignition switch that was perfectly fine but a bad sensor was the problem, many complaints but still no recall.

- Sarasota, FL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »