10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
43,826 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Chevrolet HHR:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

problem #95

Apr 012014

HHR

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet HHR. The contact stated that the vehicle stalled several times intermittently. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer. The technician replaced the ignition switch. However, the failure recurred intermittently. In addition, the contact indicated that the air bag sensor illuminated. The contact was not included in recall NHTSA campaign number: 14V047000 (air bags, electrical system). The air bag failure was not diagnosed and the vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was not available. Updated 12/09/14

- Muscatine, IA, USA

problem #94

Sep 202014

HHR

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet HHR. The contact stated that after the vehicle being serviced under NHTSA campaign number: 14E021000 (electrical system), the engine failed to start after several attempts and that the steering wheel seized. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was unknown.

- Edinburg, TX, USA

problem #93

Sep 102014

HHR

  • 53,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet HHR. The contact stated that the ignition failed to start the vehicle and the steering column failed to lock when the engine was turned off. The failures occurred multiple times. The contact stated that the failures began after the vehicle was repaired according to NHTSA campaign number: 14E021000 (electrical system). The manufacturer was notified. The approximate failure mileage was 53,000.

- Milford , NH, USA

problem #92

Apr 012014

HHR

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet HHR. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14E021000 (electrical system); however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The VIN was unavailable. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Sioux Falls, SD, USA

problem #91

Apr 112013

HHR

  • 47,061 miles
In April 2013 our service air bag light on the passenger side started coming on and off at varied times. There was no rhyme or reason for when it went on or off. Our dealer stated that if the service air bag light was off at the time of an accident, the air bags would not deploy (scared us into the repair).the car was just out of our extended warranty period of 4 yr 48000 miles. So we would need to pay for the repair. The repair was a connector module and total cost was $264.59 for the repair. After it was repaired I started finding all kinds of similar issues with Chevy cars and trucks, including various years of the HHR. I contacted GM but they refused to cover this repair stating they knew of no issues regarding a service air bag light coming on and off. This was obvious a lie since it's all over the internet and Chevy has recalled some cars and trucks for the same exact problem. I feel that we can't be sure if the air bag would work during a crash it is a safety issue and should be repaired at no cost. The cost of the repair for the actual work done is highway robbery - parts were $17.28 the rest of labor! GM needs to take care of this issue and recall the cars - or at the least, repair for free when the issue arises.

- Dagsboro, DE, USA

problem #90

Feb 112014

HHR

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet HHR. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V153000 (steering, electrical system); however, the parts needed for the repair were unavailable. The manufacturer was notified. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Durham, NC, USA

problem #89

Aug 252014

HHR

  • 99,998 miles
2009 HHR. We have had so much trouble with is car, I don't have the space to tell you all the complaints. This is the latest happening; wife calls me from town, cant get out of the car, door wont open. Finally had to crawl over the consoul and exit on the passenger side. Quiet a feat for a 260 lb 72 year old lady. Now I read on the internet this is a ongoing problem for HHR going all the way back to 2007. One person said the dealer charged $450, because the whole door panel had to be replaced. GM is certainly aware of the defective door locks and latches on the HHR. When some gets burned alive because they cant get out of the car GM cannot say the were not aware of the failures of the door latches because there are hundreds of complaints about the doors failing to open. This is just the latest problem we have with this car.,but right now this is the most important thing for me to register this complaint in case my wife is trapped in this car again and sustains injury.

- Whitwell, TN, USA

problem #88

Jun 012011

HHR

  • 38,650 miles
Window switches don't work for passage side on drivers door. Any time pushed it smells like they are burning. I was told that I would have to pay for the fix even though it was under warranty. It still isn't fixed we just don't use them. The back up lights never work and the dealer want to always say it a bad bulb. I replaced a bulb at the dealer in front them and they said it must of been a bad bulb. I've replaced at least 15 bulbs in 3 years. I also had to pay for airbag censors when they went bad and under warranty. Chevy doesn't keep their warranties and make up reasons why they don't have to cover the problems.

- Chattanooga, TN, USA

problem #87

Nov 232013

HHR

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet HHR. The contact was unable to start the vehicle after numerous attempts. The vehicle was recently repaired according to NHTSA campaign number: 14V047000 (air bags, electrical system). The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified. The VIN and failure mileage were unavailable.

- Clarksdale, MS, USA

problem #86

Apr 172014

HHR 4-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet HHR. The contact received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 14V171000 (electrical system); however, the part needed for the repair was unavailable. The dealer did not know when the part would arrive. The manufacturer was not notified. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 9/12/14 the issue was resolved. Updated 09/23/14

- Woodson, IL, USA

problem #85

Feb 052014

HHR

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet HHR. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V047000 ( air bags, electrical system ) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. The VIN was not available.

- Elkton, VA, USA

problem #84

Apr 062009

HHR

  • miles
I bought my HHR brand new. Within weeks of having it, the brakes had to be replaced due to warping. This has become an every six month routine now. The brakes don't always catch and can be scary when trying to slow down. I've barely avoided wrecks several times, and usually that involves steering towards a ditch.

- Deering, ND, USA

problem #83

Dec 202013

HHR

  • 51,000 miles
Vehicle ran fine entire day(12-20-2013), I parked to shop with my wife at a local mall. When we were ready to leave the vehicle would turn over and then immediately shut off. This happened at least 10 times, my battery was beginning to drain so I stopped. My wife and I decided to continue our shopping and come back to vehicle later. Once again I started the vehicle and it immediately shut off. I had to call a towing service (aaa) to tow us to a local repair shop. The next day I was told the vehicle started fine and they could not find any problem. The mechanic did tell us that the vehicle had previous error codes from last night pointing to ignition and starter units, but they found no problems. I have received numerous recall notices from GM describing this very thing and have requested a full refund of my towing fees ($95 invoice#73066) and trying to set up my repair since the recall notices went out in April 2014. I have not heard anything since. GM case # 71-1317180641 operator (jim).

- Tarentum, PA, USA

problem #82

Jul 092014

HHR

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet HHR. The contact stated that the vehicle was included in NHTSA campaign number: 14E021000 (electrical system). The contact stated that he had contacted the dealer and the manufacturer numerous times and were uncertain of when the parts would be available for the recall repairs. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repairs. The contact had not experienced a failure. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue.

- Saline, MI, USA

problem #81

Jun 022014

HHR

  • miles
TL * the contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet HHR. The contact received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V047000 (air bag, electrical system) and 14V171000 (electrical system). The dealer stated that the parts for the repair were unavailable and would not arrive for several months. The manufacturer was not notified. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- East Greenwich, RI, USA

problem #80

Feb 112014

HHR

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet HHR. The contact attempted to have the vehicle repaired under NHTSA campaign id number: 14V047000 (air bags, electrical system); however, the parts for the repair were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time to perform the repair. The vehicle had not experienced a failure.

- Rosebird, OR, USA

problem #79

Jun 072014

HHR 4-cyl

  • miles
Turned the key and started my car and then I couldn't turn it off. I could take the key out but the vehicle would not shut off as the ignition switch appears to be stuck in the on position. Took it to GM dealer in salinas to ask about it but said could not assist me till Wednesday, granted it was Saturday so okay, but could not help me shut off the vehicle. Said it most likely would not be associated with the recall though it seems related.

- Salinas, CA, USA

problem #78

May 062014

HHR

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet HHR. The contact received a notice for NHTSA campaign number: 14V171000 (electrical system). The contact stated that parts were not available for the recall and that he was concerned for his safety. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Monroe Township, NJ, USA

problem #77

Mar 122014

HHR

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet HHR. The contact stated that the parts were not available for NHTSA campaign number: 14V171000 (electrical system). The contact stated that he was concerned for his safety since the parts were not available in order to do the repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the delay. The vehicle had not experience the failure.

- Milford, NH, USA

problem #76

Oct 212013

HHR

  • 51,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet HHR. The contact stated that the instrument panel lights would illuminate intermittently. Additionally, the contact was crashed into from the rear by another vehicle, causing the contact to crash into a guard rail. The contact was taken to a hospital for treatment of mild whiplash and bruising to the chest. The vehicle was previously serviced under NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V171000 (electrical system), 14V171000 (electrical system), and 14V047000 (air bags, electrical system) but did not prevent the failures from recurring. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was repaired. The failure mileage was 51,000.

- Forestville , NY, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »